Froome extends Tour de France lead as Tom Dumoulin crushes the opposition in time trial

Chris Froome moved a step closer to claiming a third Tour de France crown after extending his general classification lead in Friday’s stage 13 time trial, finishing second on the day with a time of 51 minutes and 18 seconds. The 37.5km stage was won by Tom Dumoulin, who added to his stage nine victory with a brilliant run to win by a comfortable margin.

After yesterday’s big mountain stage, it was time for another big test for the GC riders in the first time trial of the race. The riders tackled 37.5km between Bourg-Saint-Andeol and La Caverne du Pont d’Arc and they were by no means flat. Right from the start the riders tackled a 6.9km climb and then a flat section suited the specialists. Finally, there was a technical descent and then a 3.3km climb to the finish.

As forecasted, climbers Fabio Aru, Daniel Martin, Romain Bardet and Joaquim Rodriguez all lost a lot of time and they are now all more than four minutes behind Froome, with Rodriguez even slipping to 13th overall.

Froome and the GC riders now hope for an easier day tomorrow when the riders face the final flat stage before Paris. There are only three small category 4 climbs in the first half and from there it is almost completely flat, meaning that a bunch sprint is the expected outcome.

“It was a just question whether we should race or not today,” Dumoulin said. “In the end, it was a just decision to race because we can’t let terrorists rule our lives in our society. It’s terrible what happened and overshadows the day a lot. So you’re speaking to a man with two sides to his face today. Of course I’m happy with the win, but at the same time my thoughts are with everyone involved in the horrific attacks in Nice.”

Tour de France 2016 – stage 13 results (Bourg-Saint-Andeol – Le Caverne de Pont ITT):

1 Tom Dumoulin (Giant-Alpecin)


2 Christopher Froome (Sky)


3 Nelson Oliveira (Movistar)


4 Jerome Coppel (IAM)


5 Rohan Dennis (BMC)


6 Bauke Mollema (Trek-Segafredo)


7 Geraint Thomas (Sky)


8 Ion Izagirre (Movistar)


9 Tony Martin (Etixx – Quick-Step)


10 Steve Cummings (Dimension Data)



General classification after stage 13:

1 Christopher Froome (Sky)


2 Bauke Mollema (Trek-Segafredo)


3 Adam Yates (Orica-BikeExchange)


4 Nairo Quintana (Movistar)


5 Alejandro Valverde (Movistar)


6 Tejay Van Garderen (BMC)


7 Romain Bardet (AG2R)


8 Richie Porte (BMC)


9 Daniel Martin (Etixx – Quick-Step)


10 Fabio Aru (Astana)


11 Roman Kreuziger (Tinkoff)


12 Louis Meintjes (Lampre – Merida)


13 Joaquin Rodriguez (Katusha)


14 Sergio Henao (Sky)


15 Geraint Thomas (Sky)


16 Warren Barguil (Giant-Alpecin)


17 Sébastien Reichenbach (FDJ)


18 Pierre Rolland (Cannondale-Drapac)


19 Damiano Caruso (BMC)


20 Emanuel Buchmann (Bora-Argon 18)


Chris Froome giant-alpecin maillot jaune nelson oliveira stage 13 time trial Tom dumoulin Tour de France yellow jersey

Dialogue & Discussion